Skip to main content

Councillors and the full council

The council is run by councillors, who are elected by the local community. They serve for a period of 4 years.

The council is made up of 42 elected members representing 18 wards.

The current makeup of the council is:

  • 37 Conservative members
  • 3 Labour members
  • 1 Liberal Democrat
  • 1 Independent Conservative

Councillors are responsible for making decisions on behalf of the local community. These decisions are about local services and budgets, such as council tax.

Councillors are not paid a salary or wages. They are entitled to allowances and expenses to cover some of the costs of carrying out their duties. All councillors follow a code of conduct. This requires them to declare any financial interests, gifts or hospitality that could influence any decisions they make.

Find out more about your councillors.

The full council

The full council is a meeting of all 42 councillors. The full council:

  • meets about 7 times a year
  • decides the policy framework and sets the budget each year
  • elects one of its 42 members to be the Leader of the Council
  • appoints members to the Overview and Scrutiny Commission

The Leader

The Leader of the council is Councillor Paul Bettison.

The Leader chairs meetings of the council’s Executive and leads on policy development and implementation.