Skip to main content

Special Education Needs Inclusion and Disability Access Funding

Special Educational Needs Inclusion Funding

Special Educational Needs (SEN) Inclusion Funding is for children aged 2, 3 and 4 years old accessing the free entitlements.

The fund is to support providers to better meet the needs of individual children with emerging SEN.

Summer term 2021

Summer term 2021 dates

Summer term 2021

Date

SEN summer application deadline

Monday 22 March

SEN panel meeting

Wednesday 31 March

Payment processed

Thursday 15 April

SEN summer application deadline

Monday 17 May

SEN panel meeting

Wednesday 26 May

Payment processed

Thursday 10 June

SEN summer application deadline

Monday 28 June

SEN panel meeting

Wednesday 7 July

Payment processed

Thursday 15 July

Autumn term 2021

Autumn term 2021 dates

Autumn term 2021

Date

SEN autumn application deadline

Monday 5 July 2021

SEN panel meeting

Wednesday 14 July 2021

Payment processed

Thursday 29 July 2021

SEN autumn application deadline

Monday 27 September 2021

SEN panel meeting

Wednesday 06 October 2021

Payment processed

Thursday 14 October 2021

SEN autumn application deadline

Monday 15 November 2021

SEN panel meeting

Wednesday 24 November 2021

Payment processed

Thursday 02 December 2021

Spring term 2022 

Spring term 2022 dates

Spring term 2022

Date

SEN spring application deadline

Monday 29 November 2021

SEN panel meeting

Wednesday 8 December 2021

Payment processed

Thursday 16 December 2021

SEN spring application deadline

Monday 17 January 2022

SEN panel meeting

Wednesday 26 January 2022

Payment processed

Thursday 03 February 2022

SEN spring application deadline

Monday 28 February 2022

SEN panel meeting

Wednesday 9 March 2022

Payment processed

Thursday 17 March 2022

Disability Access Funding

From April 2017 the government introduced the Disability Access Fund (DAF), to support access to free entitlements for children with disabilities or Special Educational Needs (SEN).

The purpose of the fund is to support early years providers to make reasonable adjustments and build the capacity of their setting to support children with disabilities. The funding cannot be used towards childcare fees.

Information provided by the Department for Education (DfE) about the Disability Access Fund can be found in the early years entitlements operational guide.

Eligibility

Three and four year olds will be eligible for the DAF if they meet the following criteria:

Children become eligible for free early education at different points in the year depending when they turn 3. Please see below:

DAF eligibility dates

Born between:

Eligible from (following third birthday)

1 April to 31 August

1 September (Autumn term)

1 September to 31 December

1 January (Spring term)

1 January and 31 March

1 April (Summer term)

Four year olds in primary school reception classes are not eligible for DAF funding.

Contact information

Early Years Team

Make an enquiry